Stations of the Cross

The ‘Stations of the Cross’ – sometimes referred to as ‘Way of the Cross’ – is a devotion commemorating the final hours of our Lord’s Life. It is commonly used during Lent.

The intention is to mediate before each station and pray on each scene depicted. Each of the 14 stations is a stage in the Passion of our Lord, from Jesus being condemned to death through to when He is laid in the tomb.

In order to follow the spiritual pilgrimage of the Stations of the Cross, it is helpful to prepare yourself. So make sure you have 30 minutes of quiet time. Pray alone or in a group, do not rush and take time to mediate on the suffering which Our Lord suffered for our salvation.

This meditation uses the striking Stations of the Cross from our church. They were moved from the church in Heathcote Road in 2001 and beautifully restored at this time.

Start here

In the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit. Amen.

Preparatory prayer

My Lord, Jesus Christ,
You have made this journey to die for me with unspeakable love;
and I have so many times ungratefully abandoned You.
But now I love You with all my heart;
and, because I love You, I am sincerely sorry for ever having offended You.
Pardon me, my God, and permit me to accompany You on this journey.
You go to die for love of me;
I want, my beloved Redeemer, to die for love of You.
My Jesus, I will live and die always united to You. Amen.